Louisiana takes drinking and driving seriously, which is why the difference in penalties between a first, second and third offense are drastic.

2.5 percent of Louisiana residents report driving after drinking in excess, compared to the 1.9 percent national average. If the police pull you over for driving under the influence and you have a previous DUI conviction on your record, what penalties will you face?

First-offense DUI penalties

  • Jail time: Minimum of ten days up to a maximum of six months
  • Fine: Minimum of $300 up to a maximum of $1,000
  • License suspension: Up to one year
  • Reinstatement fee: $100
  • Ignition interlock device: Depends on the situation

Second-offense DUI penalties

  • Jail time: Minimum of 30 days up to a maximum of six months
  • Fine: Minimum of $750 up to a maximum of $1,000
  • License suspension: Up to two years
  • Reinstatement fee: $200

Third-offense DUI penalties

  • Jail time: Minimum of one year up to a maximum of five years
  • Fine: $2,000
  • License suspension: Up to three years
  • Reinstatement fee: $300
  • Ignition interlock device: Necessary

All of the penalties listed above are for typical DUI circumstances, in which an individual is pulled over after driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) over .08 percent. Penalties will increase dramatically if police pull you over when driving with a BAC over .2 percent, you are underage, you drunk drove with a child in the car or if you injured someone else when you were drinking and driving.